With the temperature set to be near 90° today, the New Jersey State SPCA Humane Police have sent out a reminder that it is dangerous–and illegal–to leave pets unattended inside your car.
The temperature inside a parked car can rise rapidly on a summer day, even if you park in a shaded area and crack the windows. Even if you leave the windows partially open, a pet can die of heat stroke within 15 minutes. Under New Jersey law, the minimum fine for leaving a pet unattended in a vehicle under inhumane conditions is $250, but the penalty can be as much as $1,000 and six months in prison.
If you see animals left unattended in vehicles, you can report it to the NJSPCA Humane Police at 1-800-582-5979.