Sherrill Votes To Investigate Attack On Capitol


Share post:

- Advertisement -
On January 6, 2021 a mob supporting then President Donald Trump stormed the U.S. Capitol Building to prevent Congress from certifying the results of the 2020 presidential election. President Trump lost that election.

Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-NJ11) voted today to establish a Select Committee to investigate the January 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol. The vote to approve the committee, which will operate only within the House of Representatives, was 220 to 190, almost entirely along party lines. Only Republican Reps. Adam Kinsinger (R-IL16) and Liz Cheney (R-WY at large) voted with the Democratic majority. Sherrill has served as the representative for New Jersey’s 11th congressional district, which includes Verona, since 2019.

In a statement released after the vote, Rep. Sherrill said, “Getting a full public accounting of the events that occurred on January 6th is crucial to understanding what happened that day and what led up to it, and to heal as a nation so that we can move forward together. This Select Committee will be instrumental in helping us do that. It will do critical work that will shape our understanding of the insurrection by digging into the facts of that day and provide a roadmap for the path ahead. Although Congressional Republicans voted down the opportunity to have an independent, bipartisan commission, we must continue working to hold those responsible accountable and build a more resilient democracy.”

In May, Sherrill voted for a bipartisan independent commission to investigate the attack, but Senate Republicans blocked the measure.

- Advertisement -

The Select Committee approved today will examine both the causes of the attack and the facts of the day itself, and evaluate law enforcement and intelligence responses. The Committee will have the authority to issue subpoenas and study classified material. It is expected to also be bipartisan, with eight members appointed by Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-CA12) and five members appointed in consultation with Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA23).

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related articles

VHS Creative Arts Festival Returns June 1

After two years away, Verona High School students will once again show their creative talent through this year’s...

Barbara Jennings Bevilacqua, 75

Mrs. Barbara Jennings Bevilacqua, 75, died on May 25, 2022 at her home in Verona. Visiting will be...

Memorial Day 2022

Verona's Memorial Day parade will be held on Monday, May 30. The parade will begin at Everett Field,...

What I’m Thinking Today

It's another Wednesday morning. Memorial Day is coming up with the promise of a long holiday weekend and...