Middle School Book Reviews

Date:

Share post:

- Advertisement -

School may be out, but reading is still in in Verona. MyVeronaNJ.com has asked several incoming fifth graders to review some of their favorite books. Artemis Fowl is on the suggested reading list for fifth grade; the others aren’t.

The Tiger Rising

by Kate DiCamillo
Fiction, Classic
Reviewed by: Abigail, 5th grade
I liked the Tiger Rising because it’s about a boy my age, so everything is age appropriate. One the best parts of the book is when Rob, the main character, whittles something he never excepted. He meant to whittle a tiger but he ended up whittling a model of the new student, Sistine. Rob and Sistine develop an interesting relationship through out the book. There were no down sides to the book. I would recommend this book for kids who like a balance between sad and happy in their books. In the way of ages I would recommend ages 9-20!
Verona Public Library: Yes
Book author’s Web site

Artemis Fowl
by Eoin Colfer
Fiction, Fantasy
Reviewed by: Michael, 5th grade
Artemis Fowl is a book about a 12-year-old genius who captures a fairy. One of its strengths is it has lots of interesting magical creatures. Fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson will like this book. One of the weaknesses is that Artemis Fowl is harsh for a 12 year old. One minute he may be crying over his sick mother and the next he is trying to destroy the fairies with bombs. The book has some humor and also some parts when you hold breath in fear like when Holly gets kidnapped. Personally, I loved the book.
Verona Public Library: Yes
Book author’s Web site

Ophie Out Of Oz
by Kathleen O’Dell
Fiction, Fantasy
Reviewed by: Chloe, 5th grade
Ophie Out Of Oz is a great book for grades 3-5 readers who like realistic fiction set in modern times. The main character, Ophie has always compared herself to Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz and believes that her ordinary life is truly an adventure. Ophie has become accustomed to moving to new places because of her father’s job. In this story, she finds herself in a new town in which she is yet again forced to make new friends. The plot of the story is interesting and relevant to any young boy and girl struggling to find true friends. In the end the author leaves some of the story lines unanswered–maybe so she can write a sequel!
Verona Public Library: No
Book author’s Web site

- Advertisement -

Then Again, Maybe I Won’t
by Judy Blume
Fiction, Classic
Reviewed by: Abigail, 5th grade
In this book there is a boy named Tony whose dad just got a new job in Rosemont, so Tony and his family move there from Jersey City. Tony’s older brother is married and just had a baby girl. Tony believes that his brother has gone soft and that he’s no fun anymore. After moving to Rosemont, Tony meets a new friend named Joel. Joel has an older sister who’s room is right across from Tony’s window. At night he watches her change clothes when her blinds are up. He finds it amusing but then does not know if he should continue. This book is all about making smart decisions. It is a great book!
Verona Public Library: Yes
Book author’s Web site

Are you a middle school student with a book to review? Ask your parents to e-mail us and we’ll tell them how you can submit a review.

- Advertisement -
Virginia Citrano
Virginia Citranohttps://myveronanj.com
Virginia Citrano grew up in Verona. She moved away to write and edit for The Wall Street Journal’s European edition, Institutional Investor, Crain’s New York Business and Forbes.com. Since returning to Verona, she has volunteered for school, civic and religious groups, served nine years on the Verona Environmental Commission and is now part of Sustainable Verona. She co-founded MyVeronaNJ in 2009. You can reach Virginia at [email protected]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Build A Boat With The Cub Scouts

On Tuesday, August 16, Cub Scout Packs 5, 31 and 32 will hold an event at the Verona...

Real Estate: 7 New Listings, 5 Open Houses, 3 Price Changes

There are seven new listings in Verona real estate this weekend, from starter condos to an enormous single-family...

The Rising Cost Of Fixing Verona’s Water

Last week, Verona residents got a two-page letter with information on our drinking water. The first page is...

VMAC Sponsors Outdoor Movie Night

The Verona Municipal Alliance Committee (VMAC) is sponsoring a free family movie night on the lawn in front...