Effective April 1, New Jersey motorists must stop for pedestrians in a crosswalk–and remain stopped until pedestrians are completely across. New Jersey law previously only required motorists to yield to pedestrians, contributing to the high rate of pedestrian accidents and fatalities in the state. If you fail to stop now, the new law mandates a $200 fine plus court costs, and 2 points on your license.
But the new law also has some new rules for pedestrians. If you jaywalk, or cross when you do not have the right of way, you face a $54 fine, plus court costs.
According to the state division of Highway Traffic Safety, about 150 pedestrians were killed annually in New Jersey from 2004 to 2008, a figure that escalated to 157 deaths for 2009. More than 30,000 pedestrians have been injured by cars since 2004.